GAAS Scholarship Fund Announces Standard Motor Products Scholarship Recipients

For Immediate Use
June 2, 2011
GAAS PR 08-11

Media contact:
Margaret Beck, AASA

GAAS Scholarship Fund Announces Standard Motor Products Scholarship Recipients
RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium Scholarship (GAAS) Fund announced today the five recipients of $1,000 Standard Motor Products Scholarships.

Recipients for the 2011 scholarships are:
  • Raymond Campbell, Plantersville, Ala.
  • Dillon Garcia, Hillsboro, Ore.
  • Jennifer Jara, Woodbury, Minn.
  • Julian Juarez, San Antonio, Texas
  • Shelby Perrin, Loveland, Colo.
“We are pleased to support the GAAS scholarship fund with these awards,” said Larry Sills, chairman of the board, Standard Motor Products. “It is truly an investment in our future and the industry’s future.”

“One of the primary goals of the GAAS scholarship fund is to bring new talent into the automotive aftermarket and Standard Motor Products’ generous donations have allowed us to continue to strive toward this goal,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS scholarship committee.

The Standard Motor Products Scholarships were established in 2010 with a pledge by the company of $25,000 to fund five $1,000 GAAS scholarships each year for five years for students planning careers as automotive technicians.

For more information on the GAAS scholarship program, visit

About the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium
The annual two-day Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium brings together industry leaders and experts to examine the issues and trends affecting the automotive aftermarket and influencing its future. Details are available at

About the GAAS Scholarship Program

The GAAS program is a joint professional education effort of the Alliance of State Automotive Aftermarket Associations (ASAAA), Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA), Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA), Automotive Industries Association (AIA) of Canada, Automotive Parts Rebuilders Association (APRA), Automotive Service Association (ASA), Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), Motorist Assurance Program (MAP), Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA), Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA), Tire Industry Association (TIA) and University of the Aftermarket.

Login or Join the Network MEMA AASA HDMA MERA OESA