For Immediate Use
September 1, 2011
GAASS PR 01-12

Media contact:

Margaret Beck, AASA

Online Applications Available Now
For 2012 GAAS Scholarships; Deadline Is March 31

– Applications are now being accepted online for the 2012 Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) scholarship, awarded to students planning automotive aftermarket careers. The application process is now entirely electronic through the GAAS scholarship Web site,  

The deadline to apply is Saturday, March 31, 2012.

The scholarships are available to students in two-year technical college programs and vocational schools and four-year college programs. To receive a GAAS scholarship, applicants must be enrolled full-time in a college-level program or an ASE / NATEF (National Automotive Technician Education Foundation) certified automotive technical program. Graduate programs and part-time undergraduate programs do not qualify.

The GAAS scholarship is unique in that technician recipients can receive two financial grants: one while in school to assist with tuition and an equivalent grant awarded to scholarship recipients who graduate from their program and show proof of post-graduation employment as a technician in the automotive aftermarket for at least six months.

By completing a single online application at the GAAS Web site, students will be considered for GAAS scholarships, plus scholarships from a number of industry partners.

GAAS recently presented 99 U.S. and eight Canadian scholarships for the 2011-2012 academic year. In its 16-year history, the fund has presented more than $1.5 million in awards to more than 1,500 students.

“We are well on our way to becoming a one-stop shop for students seeking automotive scholarships, as evidenced by the number of students completing applications at the GAAS scholarship Web site,,” said Pete Kornafel chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Selection Committee. “In 2011, we had more than 500 completed applications, which far exceeded our total for 2010.”

Collaborative efforts with state associations and other automotive groups include:
  • Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)
  • Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
  • Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
  • Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
  • Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA)
  • Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)
  • California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers' Association (CAWA)
  • Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)
  • Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
  • New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
  • Ohio Valley Automotive Aftermarket Association (OVAAA)
  • Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)

And, these foundations and organizations collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:
  • Automotive Communication Council
  • Breslow Foundation
  • Gates Corporation
  • Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund
  • Leadership Development Network
  • Michael Busch Memorial Fund
  • Mitchell 1
  • Multi Parts Supply
  • Polk
  • Standard Motor Products
  • Women’s Car Care Council (WB)

Each of these other collaborating groups has their own criteria and selects their own recipients for their scholarships.

Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions from individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the GAAS Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at AAIA, at 301-654-6664, or

About the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium
The annual two-day Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium brings together industry leaders and experts to examine the issues and trends affecting the automotive aftermarket and influencing its future. GAAS 2012 will be held Wednesday, May 16, and Thursday, May 17, at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare in Chicago. For more information, visit

About the GAAS Scholarship Program
The GAAS program is a joint professional education effort of the of the Alliance of State Automotive Aftermarket Associations (ASAAA), Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA), Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA), Automotive Industries Association (AIA) of Canada, Automotive Parts Remanufacturers Association (APRA), Automotive Service Association (ASA), Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), Motorist Assurance Program (MAP), Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA), Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA), Tire Industry Association (TIA) and University of the Aftermarket. R. L. Polk & Co. is the corporate sponsor of the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium.