Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium

Qualified applicants must be a graduating high school senior, or have graduated from high school or received a GED certificate.  There is no minimum GPA requirement for GAAS awards.

Applicants must be enrolled or planning to enroll as a full time student in a 2 or 4 year college or an ASE/NATEF certified post secondary automotive, collision repair, or heavy duty program.

NATEF, the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation, sets standards for automotive education programs, and ASE, National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence, certifies schools that meet the standards. Certified schools are listed at

Staff members of Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium, University of the Aftermarket Foundation, sponsoring associations and their family members are not eligible. 

GAAS and UAF scholarships are restricted to students who plan a career in the automotive aftermarket.  Some of the other organizations do not have this restriction, so anyone may apply.

Students must completely fill out the scholarship application. All school transcripts including high school and post-secondary (if applicable) must be submitted with the application.

At least one letter of recommendation from a non-family member must be submitted with the application.

A 250-word essay on why the student believes they deserve to be a scholarship recipient must be submitted with the application.

Applications are made on line. Use the Apply On Line button below. Transcripts, reference letters and other documents may be scanned and attached to the on line application or sent to Jennifer Hollar at MEMA by mail, fax, or e-mail at the addresses on the application form. 

Almost 30 organizations award scholarships to students who apply on-line here.  Your complete application will automatically be submitted to every organization where you meet their requirements.  Please review each organization's page on this website, as some organizations have additional requirements such as reference letters from one of their members or your automotive teacher 

Canadian applicants, please review application procedures and application for at:

07 / 16 / 2015

Five Idaho Students Receive 2015 Scholarships from a donation from John and Kathy Albano. ...more

07 / 16 / 2015

Two 2015 Dayco Memorial Scholarships to honor Gordon Bethune and Gerald Bugenhagen ...more

View Full Listing